• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Elevated Energy Production in Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Patients

alex3619

Maybe this is a local effect, while the global situation is that of hypometabolism.
Yes, but you also have to take into account temporal effects. Its not only a spacial average, its a time average as well. Production and use might vary by time of day, depending on circadian or other timed factors. One of the reasons I did my biochem degree was because I got lost trying to figure out tissue and circadian factors in these things. I still get lost of course, this is complex stuff.

For example, you could have some chemical produced at a particular level, or it could be produced at a low level except for a major spike, etc. Something like that happens with some hormones.

Valentijn

Very interesting. Hyper-glycolysis might explain my constant sugar craving. Not sure if other people get that too?
Sometimes, but just when I moderately over-exert.

Of course these are white blood cells that are being used not muscles, so maybe they are working harder fighting infections or something? (Free-wheeling with ideas now). I wonder what a comparison of muscle mitochondria would look like?
I think one theory regarding Naviaux's findings was that some functions (energy to function) were getting down-regulated because the focus was on ramping up the immune system instead.

alex3619

Is glucose uptake a different process from glycolysis? I may be misunderstanding the processes.