• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Weight training with CFS ?

Dechi

I apologize for those severely ill. My post is for those who are somewhat able to do exercise. I haven't been sick long, three years, so I am still learning how to manage this illness. So far it took me about 1 1/2 years to stop having PEM. I attribute it to taking Nimodipine, which I started in march at a very low dose. In may I had my last 4-5 days of PEM. No more since. That's the most improvement I have had, and it is a lot. My energy is still low and all my dreaded symptoms reappear when I Have stress and or lack of sleep.

I am trying to go back to work before winter, so I started walking or biking (16 km/h) for about 50 minutes, about 5 times per week. After 6-7 weeks of that and it's going fairly well, but not perfect, I figure I have to do more if I want to be able to do my 12 hour long day when I work. So I am adding a short session to the gym to the walk, 4-5 times a week.

But, and it's a big " but ", my main symptom these days is muscle weakness in all my body, even my hand, mouth, feet, everywhere. Mostly the legs, of course, they have the biggest muscles. I used to do weight lifting when I wasn't sick, so this is something I know well. I am using my heart monitor to stay under my anaerobic threshold.