• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Cognitive symptoms worrying me.

Hello

I am new to this disease process and could use some experienced advice

I am worried and could use some peace of mind

I just had my 23 and me test which came back with BOTH COMT GENES that are completely mutated. A few mtfhr genes with single mutations.

I am at this road because of Lymes disease. I am now enduring the aftermath of chronic Lyme:

My doctor wants me on methyfolate and methylb12. I am also taking milk thistle, Green tea extract, high end fish oils gluten free diet, and turmeric.

I recently was Getting though for a while before this diagnoses but on the 4th of July there was no gluten free stuff to eat so i thought Eating pizza wouldn't be to bad. I had a headache the next day so I took some Motrin and 5000 mcg. Methylb12 and instantly got fatigued but that was it. I stopped the b12

3 days later it started as brain fog not to bad then progressed with significant cognitive impairment. Short term memory loss ( big time), out of it, can't read very well, word reversal, difficulty in comprising a full sentence and more. It dosnt seem to let up. My liver area hurts and interested to know why.

I'm so very new to this and could use a helping hand. I apologize to for the lengthy post. I am a paramedic and don't want to lose my job over it. I would have thought if I stopped the
B12 it would have eased up
By now

Thank you all.

Tyler Mckinzey

Those SNPs typically won't have a noticeable impact.