• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Blood tests to confirm methylation mutation

I have been deteriorating for the last four years and have been unable to heal my gut, suffering from total exhaustion and numerous food I tolerances. I am wondering if methylation made be a problem and plan to do 23 and me testing shortly, but whilst waiting for results, what blood tests could I ask my GP to do to help direct me....I usually have high liver enzymes and over large red blood cells as abnormalities, that GP is unconcerned about. I also take Citalpram, but wonder if there would be a better antidepressant. I live In UK and it would be pointless mentioning MYTHR to doctor as they will know nothing about it!!! Thanks for all your help

Last edited:

Horizon

23&me will uncover many of them if you use a site like genetic genie to decode the info. There is an MTHFR blood test you can get done but I don't see how you can avoid the topic if you request it. Maybe a small print out for the dr to read on the subject.

Thanks Horizon....don't think the NHS know anything about MTHYR, let alone doing blood tests for it!! I really meant any standard blood tests like B 6, B12 etc....

PennyIA