• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Looking for Ideas to Improve Primary Care of ME/CFS - Health Foundation Project

Keith Geraghty

Dear Phoenix Rising members,

The Health Foundation has a call for projects exploring innovations in primary care that benefit patients - particuarly in primary care. I am a researcher based at the University of Manchester Centre for Primary Care. I would be happy to look at running a project exploring innovations to improve the care of patients with ME/CFS in the community.

I am looking for ideas - thus if you have any suggestions about how you think care might be improved, please get in contact with me, either post your suggestion below on this site, or you can contact me directly via my email address.

Given evidence that ME/CFS patients report poor doctor-patient encounters, particularly with GPs, I thought it might be useful to look at ways of improving the situation for patients. For instance, if patients are fatigued - could GP practices be made aware in advance in order to shorten in clinic waiting for patients in ME/CFS; if patients have sensory overload, could GPs accommodate this by booking appointments at quiet times or reducing lighting and noise to a minimum. It may not be possible to ask GPs to do more home visits, as this may be a constraint - however are there ways for GPs to use email, skype and other technologies to communicate with ME/CFS patients? This is some of the ideas I have come up with so far - however I would like to put it to the Phoenix Rising community for your ideas.