• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

May 12 Awareness Day activity in (or near?) Portland, OR

ahimsa

ahimsa_pdx on twitter
I've been thinking about setting up a table on Thursday, May 12th, for International Awareness Day. I'd like to hand out information and raise awareness.

My idea is in the initial stages. I have no details yet, only a vague idea. I've never done something like this before and have no idea whether I can make it happen. But I'd like to try!

I've already posted on MEAction and also the Pacific Northwest group (see http://forums.phoenixrising.me/index.php?xfa-groups-group/pacific-northwest.9/group-detail ) asking for people to join me locally. I've had one positive response so far, so that's hopeful!

But I'd also like information and ideas from people who are not in the Portland, Oregon area.

Has anyone done this sort of thing before? If so, would you be willing to share tips on what worked and what didn't?

For those who have never done this, do you have an ideas that might help me?

I am not quite sure where to start. Where would be a good place for some sort of information table? I'm thinking some public place with a fair amount of foot traffic. And it would definitely have to be inside, climate controlled, for me. So, perhaps at a mall? Or maybe a library?

Once I get a few ideas on where then I'll have to figure out who to ask for permission, where to get a table and 1-2 chairs (can they provide it or do I need to find a folding table/chairs), what kind of signs or banner to have, etc.