• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

The Times: One in 40 teenage girls has chronic fatigue

JohnCB

Immoderate
Similar to the reports on the BBC and The Sun there is a small report in The Times on Esther Crawley's new paper. Being The Times, the online version is behind a paywall. It is also on page 4 of today's print version. I hope I have posted the link correctly, as this is my first attempt on this forum.

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/health/news/article4673767.ece

"One in 40 teenage girls has myalgic encephalomyelitis, according to an analysis of more than 5,000 children.

Girls are twice as likely as boys to suffer from ME, also known as chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS), it found.

The researchers said that doctors needed to get better at spotting the condition, and warned that children were missing huge amounts of schoolwork.

The study, published in the journal Paediatrics, found that poor teenagers were more likely to suffer CFS/ME, which was once known as "yuppie flu". ..."

As these things go it isn't very good or very bad.

I have reproduced the article as far as it is visible this side of the paywall. I assume it is bad form to copy the article in full. Does Phoenix Rising have a policy on this?

CFS_for_19_years

Hoarder of biscuits
Similar to the reports on the BBC and The Sun there is a small report in The Times on Esther Crawley's new paper. Being The Times, the online version is behind a paywall. It is also on page 4 of today's print version. I hope I have posted the link correctly, as this is my first attempt on this forum.