• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Strategies for managing night sweats?

Hi all, new here but not to CFS, I have been managing this illness for several years.

One of the symptoms I'm having a hard time dealing with is night sweats. I am normally very cold when I sleep, but several days a month (right before my period) I get terrible night sweats and my body is just hot. And, still cold at the same time!!! Last night I felt like I was on a rotisserie, the side near the mattress was unbearably hot, but the side near the top was too cold, so I kept turning over every few minutes!! This is no way to sleep. Sometimes I wake up just drenched in sweat, and hot and cold at the same time. It is the most confusing feeling. Even now, up and awake (barely), my skin is cold but the inside of my body is hot??? What the....

/rant

Anyway, what strategies have you found are best for coping with this symptom? Have you found that the type of mattress makes a difference? What about the mattress pad? Has anyone tried switching to a wool comforter? What things have made a difference for you?

We are getting a new mattress (mostly for unrelated reasons) and have decided on the Tuft and Needle mattress which is not memory foam, and claims to have conductive beads to help keep you cool. Does anyone have experience with something similar?