• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

CBS and sulfur (sulfates), truly an issue?

Hi All,

I've been treating my MTRR++ with mB12 for almost 2 months now, first at 1mg 2x daily using the Source Naturals and for the last 3 weeks, 5mg 1x daily from Jarrow. I noticed benefits with the SN 2mg daily, however when I started Jarrow not so much, perhaps I peaked or maybe because I added 800mcg quatrefolic as well?

Well my question is this, I have 2 CBS gene heterozygous mutations (see below), and have been reading all the concern about sulfur in foods. I have also read conflicting views from folks whom do not agree with Yasko's approach to the subject. Thus far, I have yet to see anyone have marked improvements of symptoms from avoiding sulfates, perhaps sulfites but nothing beyond scoring lower on the urine strip tests. Any assistance with the questions below are are much appreciated!

1. Is sulfur and more specifically sulfates really a problem?
  2. How can you tell if you are up-regulated or down-regulated?
  3. Will the addition of molybdenum allow one to consume more sulfur containing foods and/or take Epsom salt baths?
  4. What are symptoms of sulfur sensitivities?
  5. What are symptoms of excess ammonia? Best and most affordable way to test for it?

I will note this, if I eat too much animal protein, especially cheese or canned tuna/salmon, I get cystic acne, usually in odd places, like the back of my neck, the nape area. However, this could just be attributed to excess histamine in diet, as I do have all the symptoms of a histadelic