• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Low Homocysteine

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum but was wondering if you could help me out. I've had CFS for 6.5 years and in recent months I've found out that I am MTHFR homozygous C677t. This is usually associated with high homocysteine, however, my recent blood tests (and tests I've had in the past) have come back low (4.7 umol/L, reference range 5 - 15). I I also have high B12 (serum and active). Can anyone tell me why my homocysteine is low? I've been supplementing with methylfolate and methylcobalamin for over six months but I haven't noticed any improvements. Do I need to supplement with glutathione and methionine?

Thanks in advance.

PeterPositive

Hi,
your homocysteine is just slightly low and definitely doesn't seem to be affected by the MTHFR defect, so you don't need to take extra methyl donors. Maybe the value will return in range when you stop taking them. :)

Possibly a higher amount of methionine could increase the circulating homocysteine, but it's not that simple.

In any case MTHFR C677T++ needs to be treated with B9/B12 in presence of elevated homocysteine and often times a change in the diet can fix it just as well.

I have the same defect and my Hcy levels are not very easy to keep in check so I have to take plenty of those supplements... :rolleyes:

Bottom line: unless your doc prescribed folate and B12 I don't think you really need them, at least given your homocysteine status.

cheers

Thanks for your reply.