• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Anyone had experience with the optimum health clinic UK?

slysaint

I signed up to this clinic online and have received a load of literature and they regularly send videos and newsletters. Just watched the latest one on 'tired and wired'.
Wondered if anyone else has heard of it/used it?

sarah darwins

I got a bunch of stuff from them in the mail, dvd included. Turned out my mother had requested it for me (she was only trying to help). This was before I joined PR, before I started learning what's behind all the BPS stuff and the history of the psych annexing of me/cfs. But even then, I read through some of the literature and thought "this is ridiculous". I binned it.

Other views are available. And some people do say they get benefit from this kind of thing. But their comments about me/cfs seemed so at odds with my entire experience of illness (which included total denial of being ill for some years and a fiercely positive outlook) that I have no use for it whatsoever.

RosieBee

I regret wasting my very slender resources going to the Optimum Health Clinic. I did speak on the phone with them about my previous experiences and understanding of ways to treat ME to make sure they would not be covering old ground, so I was disappointed to find it was an expensive form of reframing and EFT. Some people who had absolutely no knowledge of these ways of self-help or of nutrition (if they paid for that service) may have learned something new, but for me it was a big waste of money.

slysaint