• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Newbie needing help

Jifmomto8+1

Hello all. I am a newbie with a very sick hubby. He began having trouble 11 yrs or so ago with seemingly random itching only on the tops of his feet or he would get one little hive next to his belly button, just periodically, more especially when he traveled to Mexico on frequent business trips.

After we moved to Kansas almost 7 years ago, things began to escalate. More frequent hives and started wheezing. Had allergy testing done and only a dog allergy showed up. Well I had already determined that he reacted strongly to vinegar and garlic. Doc says well you can't be allergic to vinegar. So helpful.

He now reacts to most any strong smell, natural or chemical. He reacts to dust, dogs, grass, nuts, citrus, sulfates, shellfish, rosemary, basil, cinnamon, gluten, acetates, iodine, a whole host of medicines etc. In addition diagnosed with IBS. Pretty sure he has MCS/MCAS.

March 2014 he hit his head after apparently passing out in the bathroom. He got a concussion. MRI and EKG, blood work all normal. Since then he has steadily lost cognitive function, has severe ongoing headaches and begun having what appears to be complex partial seizures, EEG normal. He lost his job last August. Thank the Lord for long term disability insurance, but what a pain to get it approved! We went 5 months with 0 income, and we have 8 kids!