• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Hate doing nothing

Can anyone help me understand how I balance activity and rest?
I rest on settee in front of TV most days between 9am-3pm and spend a lot of time on computer, tablet or reading. Then I collect kids from school so have to be more active til they are in bed. Then I watch TV/read again until about 9pm, then bed.

My symptoms fluctuate a lot and I rarely get good days right now. I've tried to properly rest for an hour every so often in bed with an audio book but I'm not good at it and resent the time I lose.

I don't mind physically being inactive but find it hard not to keep my mind active. I'm just rubbish at doing nothing. People keep telling me to go to bed while kids are at school and then as soon as they're in bed but I'm just not that sort of person.

Is it OK to do these simple mental activities from the settee each day or should I really be stopping all activity for periods each day?

Effi

Is it OK to do these simple mental activities from the settee each day or should I really be stopping all activity for periods each day?
It depends on how much you need to concentrate in order to do these activities, or how highbrow the books or tv shows are. Some people (me included) crash just as much from mental activities as from physical. I too find it hard just to lay in bed doing nothing during the day (I can't sleep during day time), so I watch very lowbrow, slow tv. On a very bad day I'll follow the shows with my eyes closed. This keeps my mind busy but not so busy I crash.