• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Letters of Support

I have three days until my SSDI supplemental hearing and am freaking out. I am in the process of asking ppl who have been around me (non-medical professional friends) to write letters of support to send to the ALJ for this Monday. I've never done this before. What important information should be included to convince the judge I am disabled? I have ideas but don't want to miss anything.

Also, what is the easiest way for my friend to electronically sign the Word document that will be sent to me electronically?

Thank you very much.

Denise

Hopefully others can tell you how someone can electronically sign the word document.

As for what should be in your letters of support - I hope the following might be of some help:

If your friend knew you before you got sick perhaps she/he could relate what you used to be able to do before and in what ways you are now limited.

If your friend doesn't have pre-illness context, can she/he talk about times you have had to say no to events (and things like how often do you say yes as compared to how often you say no)? Can they provide details about instances when they have seen you when you are less well (physically and or cognitively) and how that differs from other times they have seen you?

How predictable is your level of function? Can your friends speak to that?

The more detail the ALJ has about your previous and current level of function, the better your chances ought to be.

Mary

Moderator Resource