• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Concerns about IOM diagnostic criteria including those with mental illnesses?

ahimsa

ahimsa_pdx on twitter
I'm no expert so maybe this is a dumb question. Please bear with me.

In a nutshell, the new IOM diagnostic criteria says (my wording)
Must have these 3 symptoms:
* impaired day-to-day function, new or definite onset, etc.
* worsening of symptoms after physical or mental exertion (PEM)
* unrefreshing sleep

Plus one of the following 2 symptoms:
* cognitive impairment
* orthostatic intolerance (e.g., POTS or NMH)

For those who are worried that the new diagnostic criteria will include too many patients with a primarily psychiatric illness, are there are lot of mental illnesses that would overlap with these criteria?

E.g., do a lot of folks with depression also have Orthostatic Intolerance? Or PEM?

Please don't take this as an argument. I honestly do not know the answer. I'm trying to understand. Thanks!

(an image of the detailed diagnostic criteria is attached)
MECFS_ProposedDiagnosticCriteria.jpg

Hope123

No, most people with ONLY depression, in my experience and reading, do not have orthostatic intolerance and PEM. However, having depression does not mean you can't be affected or that you are protected from getting OI and SEID.
The topic you refer do is also addressed in another one of the threads, if I can find it.

ahimsa

ahimsa_pdx on twitter
However, having depression does not mean you can't be affected or that you are protected from getting OI and SEID.