• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

i.v. glutathione

SwanRonson

My naturopath m.d. wants to do a glutathione iv. Has anyone had this done, or have any information on risks/side-effects? She said it was because of my MTHFR mutation, but that's only heterozygous. I'm wondering how it would affect someone with COMT/CBS homozygous mutations like me.

SDSue

Southeast
I'm no expert, but IV glutathione is part of what took me from a 5-6 on the function scale to bed bound within days. It's been nearly 3 years since then, and I've "recovered" to mostly housebound.

Some have great success with it, but I'd recommend low and slow!

alice111

DONT DO IT! I also went to bed bound after only one I've, it's almost two years later and I'm nor recovered

maryb

iherb code TAK122
I got terrible pains when having IV Glut - its supposed to help protect your liver but it hurt my gall bladder immediately. The clinic staff wouldn't take my word for it, I tried 3 times with the same result, listen to your body, if it hurts then stop. No matter it works for others. I've tried the oral glutathione, don't know it made me any sicker but it did help my liver enzymes return to normal after IV ceftriaxone.

SwanRonson

I have a standing policy now not to put anything in (or take anything out of) my body that I don't fully understand. Of course I could be mistaken about what I think I know, but I've learned the hard way to go low and slow with everything now. It's amazing how fast a google search for "______ side effects" can change your mind about something.

SDSue

Southeast