• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Banana intolerance

Tunguska

Every single time that I eat about 3-4 bananas cooked in a pan on medium for about 10 minutes, I get a kind of strong depression about 30 minutes later. A darkening comes over my frontal lobes, a strange flattening, which I've described as a "wall" (I'm not good at this). Of course it's not placebo because those things are delicious.

This has happened arbitrarily after consuming some other foods I can't identify a commonality. Bananas are the only one that have caused it every single time, at least 30 times (they're delicious). I'm wondering if anyone else has had this, part of an ongoing problem. I've rarely had crippling problems tolerating foods.

It hasn't happened with plantains or potatoes in similar amounts. Or other sugary fruits. Only organic and non-organic bananas. It's also happened after eating them raw but less consistently, can't remember if ripe or unripe. If cooked, ripe or unripe makes no difference.

It's not something I had in the past and I can't for the life of me figure out what is in these things causing it. I figure it shouldn't be the potassium since those other foods are high and I use a potassium supplement. Nor the B6 since it's a fraction of what you get in supplements. What's left? Chitinases (latex), but these are also in plantains. Serotonin, dopamine? Not supposed to cross the BBB. Quinine? Tyramine? Pesticides? What is in bananas that would trigger depression?

Last edited:

eafw