• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Able to function with Epsom Salts baths. The affect on methylation??

Hi All,

I have been working Rich's protocol since 2006. My problem is hair dye blocking my mito function.

I have seen some improvement, but was really able to have a life when I added Epsom Salts baths, twice a week.

I know this is sulfur and I have tried other forms of magnesium in the bath, but the Epsom Salts is what really makes me feel human again.

What I have noticed with this, is the gut takes the hit, from to much sulfur. High yeast!

I have tried to ease myself off the Epsom Salts and find I cannot function at all.

So I am trying to be functional, treat the gut and still doing the methylation protocol.

In effect, fighting on three fronts!

I would like to know, if the overboard of sulfur from the baths, is going to slow down methylation to a great extent??

I know everyone is trying to stay away from sulfur.

My genova detox profile, showed I do not have a gene on the glutathione chromosome. It is called null allele.

I would be so grateful for any help!

Janet

drob31

This is fascinating. I know magnesium deficiency is huge with with a lot of other conditions like hypothyroidism. Could it just be that the magnesium is finally bioavailable from the salt baths and you now have a sufficient amount?

Sushi

Moderation Resource Albuquerque
@cutie2u222

Rich had a thread discussing whether or not we could tolerate epsom salts baths. You might look it up--sorry I don't remember the issues re: these baths that he was interested in.

Sushi