• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Does Particulate Matter Make Histamine Worse?

ebethc

Hi -

I'm just learning about Histamine problems, DAO, and Mast Cell problems... Environmental triggers make me feel lousy, including any kind of particulate matter (pollution, pollen, mold spores, dust) and humidity... I feel allergic (fatigue, swollen sinuses, terrible brain fog), but test negative for all allergies. My allergist said that I'm just sensitive to particulate matter, so it's not an allergy per se... I'm wondering if this could be a histamine or mast cell problem. Any idea if this is true, or do histamine/mast cell problems get triggered by food only?

ps Humidity makes me MISERABLE and I'm wondering if it's the mold spores - even though I test negative for an allergy. Thoughts?

thanks

ebethc

@acrosstheveil - what do you take that helps? (if anything..) How do you know it's histamines? Do you test positive for mold? I don't, so I'm not sure why humidity bothers me so much..

thanks

acrosstheveil

i don't test positive for mold. all my doctors have no idea why its happening, self-diagnosed myself. i even saw an allergist/immunologist and he was no help whatsoever. i even saw he wrote a paper on mast cells but refused to even listen to me about mast cells.