• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Fasting, Stem Cells and CFS

Jon_Tradicionali

Alone & Wandering
My husband (who has CFS) has become preoccupied with this bit of news:

https://news.usc.edu/63669/fasting-triggers-stem-cell-regeneration-of-damaged-old-immune-system/

And wants to try it for his CFS.

It seems like fasting would be a bad idea for a person with CFS. At the same time, I'm not an expert.

Would anyone have thoughts on this at alll? Apologies for such a random post.

Hi,

Not random at all.

Yes I think it's worth trying.

Please tell us how he gets on.

daisybell

My husband thinks I should try it, but I'm not at all keen. I don't feel that my body would cope with not having any food for energy. There was an article commenting on the fasting 'fad' in the Telegraph online which I read with interest.

Perhaps fasting is good for some, but once you have fasted for more than a certain number of hours, your body starts breaking down your own muscle for energy. I don't see how that can be good for people with ME.

This is an untested hypothesis. Great if it does work, but potentially very harmful. I for one don't want to be a guinea pig for it!

Valentijn

Skipping a meal or even too little protein is enough to make me feel wretched. I don't think fasting is a good idea in a disease where energy production is a major problem.

ukxmrv

I developed fainting, nausea and vomited on a fast. Even fasting for a day takes weeks to recover from. I'd proceed with caution with this idea.

Gingergrrl