• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Fredd...Rich...Yasko...Methylation...? Help!

EMilo

Elizabethmilo.com
Hi everyone,

I've been sick for 21 months and following my doctor's supplement and diet protocol for the last year. Nothing is getting better... Worse, in fact. I'm new to this whole methylation protocol thing and don't know who the people are you all talk about.

Can someone please point me in the right direction or tell me a link to kind of "beginner's info" on this stuff?

Thank you so much for the help!

Critterina

Elizabeth, Welcome!

I'm new here too, as of July 31. Some of this is pretty intense, as you probably have found out. We are all on our own journeys toward health, and the help you can find here is fantastic. That said, not everyone agrees on everything.

I'm interested in the genetics and biochemical pathways and how to supplement to make up for things that don't work well because of the variations in my genetics. I'm visual, so I like the Heartfixer page, with all it's diagrams and explanations. http://www.heartfixer.com/AMRI-Nutrigenomics.htm That said, by now, listening to these people here who read the real research, I don't agree with everything they say on that page anymore. (I read the abstracts of the research, but that's about as far as I go.)

Amy Yasko is a doctor who treats kids for autism using methylation protcols. She has published simplified explanations of the biochemical pathways. LInks to them can be found in greenshots' signature block. (greenshots is a Senior Member here.)