• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Hey Guys

Ben H

OMF Volunteer Correspondent
Hey Guys,

Just wanted to say hello (have posted in the right forum) and let people know my background as it may help them!

I used to be very active (natural bodybuilding/powerlifting) and a gym supervisor by trade, yet CFS hit over a year ago and have not been able to work out properly since. I also studied nutrition at university before I got ill so I am hugely into the diet/supps side of things.

I am working with the OHC and am on the mitochondria package...but to be honest can say it hasnt really done much atm. I had a mito test done and it was textbook results-low atp/recycling, low carnitine (i never ate read meat just white....) and low glutathione.

I have OCD and have suffered from depression in the past and at the time I got ill was under a lot of stress from various angles!

Things that have worked for me are:

-Getting enough sleep-usually 9 hours at least and also going to be at the same time every night (9.30pm....party animal I know).

-Meditation to calm my racing mind.

-Green juicing and probiotics. Actually made me sleep better it would seem.....possibly the magnesium, I am not sure.

Anyway will keep you posted. Hope I can help maybe and I wlecome ANY advice!

Ben

Plum

Hi and welcome.

I am curious - do you manage any exercise at the moment? I know a lot of gym enthusiasts get CFS - have you checked your adrenal glands? Nice to see someone into the diet side of things.

Ben H

Hey Plum,