• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Which SNPs have problems with folic acid and/or folinic acid? MTHFR, MTHFS, more?

Lotus97

I'm new to this whole SNP thing. I have the 23andme test kit sitting right in front of me as I type this. I am wondering which SNPs have problems with folic acid and/or folinic acid? And I would appreciate detailed answers explains why that certain SNP has problems rather than just yes or no. For example it seems certain mutations of both MTHFR and MTHFS have problems with folinic acid, but for different reasons (which I don't understand well at all). I would also like to know whether these SNPs have to avoid folic acid and/or folinic acid entirely or if only moderate to large amounts cause problems. Also, with MTHFR is it only the conversion to from folinic acid to methylfolate that is inefficient, or are do they also have trouble using folinic for other functions?

Freddd

If I knew, I'd tell you. It is this lack of knowledge here that a major problems, nobody apparently able to tie the SNPs to specific examples of folate handling. There are lots of theories but I haven't seen anything so far that correlates with the actual results with folate varieties. I was hoping that people with the testing would figure out how they respond to the various folates and their results with each of 3 types of mixes, complete trials of all and all combos, and the SNPs.

Lotus97