• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Research into Forum Use by People with ME/CFS

Hello,

My name is Ellen Brady and I am a PhD student at the University of Manchester in the UK. As part of my research, I am looking at the views and experiences of patients with long term illnesses who use the Internet. Addressing this topic will add to previous research on the use of online discussion groups by patients, and help researchers and health professionals to understand the role that Internet forums play in the lives of chronically ill patients.

In particular, I would like to know more about the experiences of people over the age of 18 with ME/CFS throughout the UK. In order to do this, I would like to interview a number of people with ME/CFS about their use of the Internet. I am interested in speaking to both frequent and infrequent Internet users, as I would like to talk to people with a range of views and experiences.

These interviews will take place by phone or in person, whichever is easier for you, and will last 30 to 60 minutes. Everything that is said during the interview will be kept confidential. If you think you would like to take part, I can send you an information sheet with more details on the study.

If you are based in the UK and would like further information, or to take part in the study, please contact me by email at ellen.brady@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk or by phone at 0161 275 7652.

Thank you,
Ellen

It looks like her PhD will be in Medicine, and her research is sociological involving chronic illness. Her undergrad degree was in psychology.