• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

News of replication of WPI XMRV study...

flybro

Precisely.
Completely agree.

Please be gentle, I'm a newbie posting in the the grown-up forums.

I've been looking hard for alternate explanations, that fit with what I know about myself and family.

The one thing I thought I might've found, which is still crap, is Fragile-X, but I would not be totally shocked if Fragile-X turns out to be the work of XMRV.

& Fragile-X dos'nt fit as well as XMRV unless I could have both Fragile-X and XAND, again my question would be does fragile-X increase your chances of having XAND. A gene marker was mentioned in Kerrs 80 gene study, that is a Fragile-X marker. But I cant understand the paper to see if it's showing a normal marker and others. Or if it showing up regulated , or down regulated.

I could be completely off the ball. I f any one reads this, and can read understand Kerrs 80 Gene science paper, could they have a look at NUFIP2 it's listed in the tables and aon the gene card thingy. But again I have no idea if it's existence in the paper, is linking a marker for Fragile-X and CFS/ME XMRV XAND. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you for trying to understand what I'm asking for here. I'm not sure I do.

Martlet

I don't care what causes CFS/ME, as long as they find out and can treat us ... as well as prevent others from coming down with it.