• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

New here, want to understand basics

Hello,

Brand new here. Spoke with Paul08 in chat and he said to come and make a thread. Good idea :)

I am not new to CFS. Not new to chelation nor heavy metal toxicity, but I am new to methylation.

Long (!!) story short:

I am, for the most part, bedridden. I have nearly died detoxing in 2010 (using chelation - DMPS IVs, high thiol (sulfur) foods, etc.). Stopped that - husband said I was about 2 weeks away from him buying a coffin. I then went onto trying DMSA and Alpha Lipoic Acid - went crazy. Stopped, got back on the Klonopin I had stopped using over a 3.5 year Ashton manual protocol just to get some sanity and sleep back - didn't sleep for weeks except a bit here and there - completely out of my mind and suicidal. Body strengthened enough after stopping all detoxing enough that I could get up to go to the bathroom without assistance and get my own food now. About 1.5 month ago, histamine reactions became worse (they were bad! But now so bad, throat closing). Looked into methylation via Dr. Amy Yasko. I study through Hawthorn University but had to take a leave of absence because I'm getting so bad now, I can't do the homework and didn't get to the course on methylation. (ugh!).