• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Critical - multiple food allergies

adreno

PR activist
Is MCAD supposed to have this near-instant, at-a-distance effect? Simply putting a drop of yogurt on your lips and mast cells degranulate right away in your throat? I am far from an expert on MCAD but this spooky action at a distance is really confusing to me.

It was just a thought. I'm not an expert. I just thought I'd mention it. Please do your own research, if you want to know more.

RustyJ

Contaminated Cell Line 'RustyJ'
I don't understand this. Taking a H2 inhibitor is a sure fire way of increasing histamine levels in your body. Not as bad as a proton pump inhibitor, though. On top of that, your body wil also have to deal with partially digested food proteins, potentially leading to increased allergies and things such as small intestine bacterial overgrowth.

In my case, increasing methylation and taking diamine oxidase are the two tools I use to deal with histamine overload symptoms.

The H2 receptor antagonists are a class of drugs used to block the action of histamine on parietal cells in the stomach, decreasing the production of acid by these cells.

So yes and no. Less histamine, less acid in stomach, which decreases irritation and inflammation. But may cause ingestion problems and further histamine problems around the body. However it appears, at least in my case that inhibition of H2 in stomach causes less problems than by not inhibiting it. Lessor of two evils?