• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Mercury levels and methylB12

I'm new to this whole mercury thing. I'd never given it much thought because I've never had an amalgam filling, only composites (my mother was quite opposed to them even when I was a child!). My RBC mercury levels are pretty high according to my NutrEval results. My doctor says that RBC mercury usually reflects methylmercury in the body. This makes sense in my case since all of the mercury in my body comes from fish and the mercury in fish is in methylmercury form.

I've seen some people argue that MethylB12 should not be used if someone has a mercury issue because cobalamin is known to methylate mercury and methylmercury can cross the blood brain barrier. However, I have also seen some studies (from the early 80s, one was from Sweden) where MethylB12 was the only form of B12 that was able to protect nerve cells from damage by methylmercury. So it seems like there is no consensus on this issue.

Also, on a side note, I researched the mercury levels of citizens in high fish eating countries, such as Japan and Sweden. I tend to think of the citizens of these countries as being incredibly healthy. However, studies found that citizens of these countries had RBC mercury levels that averaged as high as 9 ug/g. For sake of comparison, the NutrEval puts the upper limit at 3.9 ug/g. Anyway, just food for thought.