• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Which to treat first: adrenals, thyroid or methylation cycle?

RosieBee

I am a newbie to this forum, but I have been dealing with ME for 20 years. I hope that someone here can give me a little advice, as I have found out that now I need to support my thyroid.

I am trying to decide where to go from here.

1) Thyroid
2) Adrenals
3) Methylation cycle.

My Dr recently started me on Thyrioxine (TSH 5.5), but I reacted badly to that and little improvement with natural dessicated thyroid (NDT).

It seemed that my adrenals were already compromised. 24 hr adrenal profile showed significantly high cortisol levels throughout the day with low DHEA, suggesting adrenal stress.

I had wanted to start the methylation protocol, but was holding off until I had stabilised the thyroid.

Should I stabilise the adrenals first, then introduce thyroid support and later complete the methylation protocol?

It seems that if you tweak one system it has knock-on effect with other systems.

Cheers
RosieBee

heapsreal

iherb 10% discount code OPA989,
from what i have read, do the adrenals first as this can sometimrs fix thyriod issues, also test reverse t3, look into getting cortisol down with supps like phosphatidylserine. and try get dhea up but do it slowly 10mg increments, also if need to medicate to get good sleep.

topaz

I too have just been diagnosed with high night time cortisol.