• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Beta Glucan as surrogate for GcMAF /macrophage activator?, any experiences, opinions?

baccarat

I'm very interested in GcMAF but at present can't afford it. So I have been looking for something that would work in a similar way.

I'm particularly intrigues by the fact that Glucans activate macrophages, which seems to be the way GcMAF works. They also seem to stimulate NK cells. However I'm no expert and would appreciate any input explanation regarding this aspect.

My question is, by taking Beta glucans, can I achieve the same macrophage activation as taking GcMAF?

This is some of the info on glucans I found on this non-commercial site.

http://betaglucan.org/

Research Overview

An Arsenal of Immune Defense: Czop, Joyce K., The Role of Beta.-Glucan Receptors on Blood and Tissue Leukocytes in Phagocytosis and Metabolic Activation. Pathology and Immunopathology Research; 5:286-296. Harvard Medical School. 1986.

Quote: the presence of a particulate activator can rapidly initiate assembly and amplification of a host defense system involving humoral and cellular interactions with B-glucans. Animals pretreated with purified glucan particles are subsequently more resistant to bacterial, viral, fungal, and protozoan challenge, reject antigenically incompatible grafts more rapidly and produce higher titers of serum antibodies to specific antigens.