• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Factors associated with severe oxidative stress in CFS

mellster

Marco
Hi fla,

I think it all depends on your current overall condition, generally you should be able to improve protection through exercise or cold-water swimming, but up to a certain point where you start overtraining and then decline (there are striking similarities between CFS an overtraining syndrome). That could well be true for the brain as well. Being a SW developer, I think it is fairly brain intensive but I don't think it is dangerously brain intensive and overall beneficial ;) However I think that certain extremely brain intensive activities such as parallel blind-folded chess tournaments have been outlawed before due to possible detrimental effects on the brain (exhaustion etc.), maybe just a tale but a quick google search should be able to verify that :)

biophile

Places I'd rather be.
Snow Leopard asked: Are there any published studies which actually show the in-vivo effect of Opuntia ficus indica extract?

Most of what I've seen about claims of effectiveness for Tex-OE lead back to anecdotes and marketing material from companies that sell it and therefore is highly suspicious. However, I did find potential leads from a paper on a human trial, "Effect of Opuntia ficus indica on Symptoms of the Alcohol Hangover" (http://archinte.ama-assn.org/cgi/reprint/164/12/1334.pdf). I have not investigated these cited sources in detail, after a quick look I'm not getting my hopes up, but here are the relevant quotes: