• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

HIV patients have low glutathione too, is this a similar process to M.E patients?

anniekim

I've seen papers mention that HIV patients have low glutathione due to an increase of oxidative stress from the virus. Is it possible that the reason people with m.e/CFS have low glutathione is because some unknown pathogen is increasing oxidative stress as in HIV?

Enid

I'm not a scientist anniekim but this does look interesting - hopefully someone brighter will step in and be able to comment. on something we have in common.

MDL

Here's a link: Hydrogen sulfide

When I wrote my original hypothesis years ago "Hypothesis: Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Mitochondrial Hypo-function, and Hydrogen Sulfide", I was fascinated to find a bacterial link to both ME/CFS and HIV. Please see page 7 http://aboutmecfs.org.violet.arvixe.com/RsRch/H2S.pdf. In fact, I thought it was potentially so significant that I chose to make that my last observation. I think a close reading of the hypothesis will give much to think about, as it involves looking at the disease in a wholly new way.