• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

At this point, how likely do you think it is that HMRVs are the cause of CFS/ME?

At this point, how likely do you think it is that HMRVs are the cause of CFS/ME?

• 70-100%

Votes: 29 42.0%
  • 40-69%

Votes: 6 8.7%
  • 10-39%

Votes: 12 17.4%
  • 2-9%

Votes: 8 11.6%
  • 0-1%

Votes: 14 20.3%

• Total voters

ukxmrv

Esther,

Have you read the full paper published in Science in it's entirety of the methods and results of Phase iii of the BWG?

Firestormm

At this point - damned unlikely.

I am no scientist. Nothing has been published that I am aware of that says anything other than 'XMRV' was 'found' to be prevalent in patients with 'CFS' or 'ME' in either their BLOOD or some sneaky part of their body (thought that is now questionable if not defunct).

If you want to speculate about retroviruses and possibilities that they are the cause of human disease - well we might as well be asking it of ALL humans at this juncture I guess.

I mean retroviruses exist in humans - that's a given and for some humans we (as in science) don't even know what they are or what they might do. And this is the whole point I guess - even with the BWG results and with whatever Lipkin 'finds' or doesn't 'find' - there will always be that 'out'.

People will always be able to say 'Well we are looking for retroviruses and we know they are there somewhere...' And so long as this continues the whole 'XMRV/Whatever' will continue.

Anyway, I voted 0-1% obviously :)

Esther12

Esther,