• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Do I Have to Give Up Caffeine?

Hi all,
I'm just starting to learn about what I need to do to manage CFS and work at getting better.

I have read that I should be avoiding caffeine. My doctor (MD who specializes in treating CFS/FM and other chronic illnesses) didn't mention this to me.

Do I really have to give up caffeine? :( I usually have 1 espresso drink (1 shot, 12 oz) in the morning and 1 in the afternoon. It has been the only way that I've been able to function for months now. I don't know if I will be able to continue functioning at work without at least the morning one.

Best wishes,
Anna

Nielk

I don't think that caffeine is bad for everyone especially in moderation. I too, have a cup in the morning (can't get started without it) and if I have a bad headache, I will have another one which helps my headache.
I have tried to get off caffeine for a while and it didn't improve the way I was feeling, so I went back on it.
I know that some patients can't tolerate it at all. I think you would probably know yourself if it's bad for you.

Sushi

Moderation Resource Albuquerque
Hi all,

I have read that I should be avoiding caffeine.
Do I really have to give up caffeine? :(

Best wishes,
Anna

I think it is individual. For some it seems to be poison. It helps me to raise my blood pressure in the morning, so I drink a cup. Not sure I could get out of bed without it!

If it hypes you up too much it probably isn't good. For me, it takes me from slug to upright.

Sushi

Mij

Hi all,