• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Transcendental Mediation

Hi i started Transcendental Mediation and found it really helpful for my ME. It really helped. Gave me very deep rests and I could do it even if i was quite tired. Its worth a look into. The website is www.tm.org, thanks.

maddietod

I've meditated off and on for 40 years (mostly off!), and have found it profoundly helpful for sleep issues and CNS overactivity. How has it helped you, Harris?

Nielk

How did you learn how to meditate? Did you take a course?from books? videos?

maddietod

Self taught. I can't ever agree with any 'school' of thought! Everybody seems to agree on one common goal of silencing the 'monkey mind.' Not saying that's THE goal, but everybody finds that important. So I figured out how to sit inside the flashes of silence between words/images, and expand them. That's still my entire practice - finding that silence and expanding it.

caledonia

I took a class several years ago.

Basically what you do is get into a relaxed position (sitting or laying down), then pay attention to the breath going in and out of your nose. Invariably your mind will wander off into other thoughts. As soon as you realize it, gently bring your attention back to your breath. It takes about 20 minutes for your body's natural relaxation response to kick in.

Hi i learnt TM at the local centre. It was easy to learn. You can find your local centre at www.tm.org. I think its better to learn from a teacher than from a book or video, it seems to work better, that way.

Dreambirdie

work in progress