• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Switzer now finds (some) XMRV in Prostate Cancer

lansbergen

So they only test for DNA? I am no scientist. I know that Singh has the one picture of a budding virion.

They test for the provirus. That is DNA.

There is at least one picture with a budding virion.

The WPI found that plasma is infectious. To me that means there must have been virions in the plasma. Virions spread the infection by entering other cells.

liquid sky

So the virus would only be found in the plasma when it is spreading from one cell to another. A virion would bud from one cell and then go into the plasma to spread to another cell and infect it.

They know that this virus has a low replication rate, so there would be times it is found in one patient and others where it might not be detected in the same patient. Didn't WPI go to just antibody tests and culture tests, no PCR?

Bob

And then there was also the German study (Fischer et al.) that found XMRV in respiratory secretions. Can it be there and not in the blood at all? I mean it must travel through the body somehow... How does it do that, if not through the blood? Unless at some point after the original infection it settles in some places and then does not move at all anymore. Would this be possible?

A bit of info on this here:
http://phoenixrising.me/forums/show...cates-preferentially-in-mucosal-sites-in-vivo

lansbergen