• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Article: The Stars Begin to Align at the NIH: A CFS Review Panel. For CFS!

Its like a chicken and egg scenario; its been thought that they believe they can't get funded - so they don't apply. Was that true?

:

Cort, I don't know how you can say this. Didn't you just write some things about how bad the problems were with grants being unfairly rejected? I've been hearing it for 20 years and I don't think the researchers are crazy or stupid or liars.

Hey thanks for info, a few very good ones on there, really the scary one is James Jones.....from what I hear he is as bad if not worse than Reeves and his history of working against m.e. patients goes back to the 80s when he helped come up with bogus name "cfs" to water down a real neuro-immune illness.....don't know why he has to be part of this group :( hopefully he won't get in the way.......

patient advocate charlotte made a very strong and good case for how absurd the make up of this panel was (dentists?)...my learning from this: we need to establish a diverse patient committee that meets regularly, ongoingly, and face-to-face (or phone conference call) with NIH officials. Now...i see only gains from such ongoing meetings. no down side.

Rivka,

Charlotte was right on to question why a psychologist working in the field of dentistry is heading the ME/CFS grant review panel.