• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

GcMAF for XMRV--Gc protein-derived macrophage activating factor--anyone taking it?

lobba123

i am not an expert on this subject but there are many viruses and bacteria that can escape immune system this way remining latent inside cells and waiting for immune system to weaken and attack again

this one is not about viruses:
i saw a study on bacteria recently that found sugars to awake the latent bacteria and make even antibiotics resistant to them active again and more potent......so they are now adding sugar to antibiotics

Hi, vli.

Certain viruses, including those in the herpes family and some others, have the ability to go into a "latent" state. In this state, they hang out inside certain types of human cells, but don't actively use the cell's machinery to make their own proteins and thus reproduce and spread to other cells. In other words, they "lay low." If they aren't making proteins, they aren't detectable by the HLA mechanism. Another thing they do is hide inside cells that have long lifetimes and don't have a very active HLA system. Neurons are an example, and some of the herpes family viruses (such as the one that produces cold sores and the one that produces chicken pox/shingles) reside in them. Neurons have to have long lifetimes so as not to break up the neural networks in our brains that constitute memory. Another example is the Epstein-Barr viruses hang out in memory B lymphocytes. These viruses are clever little guys!

Rich

mojoey

Hi Rrrr,